Lifestyle Solutions for a Happy Healthy You!

5 Things People with Alzheimer’s Want to Tell You

  • I’ve been diagnosed, not defined, see the real me: “I am not a diagnostic or a statistic. I still have feelings, thoughts, dreams, hopes and plans. There are many things I can still do. I am not sitting in a wheelchair in a nursing home staring out the window—not yet. I am a vibrant, loving person. Always remember: I have Alzheimer’s, it does not have me.”
  • I can’t do this alone, help me: “I need you to help me find ways to succeed at helping others and in doing something significant with my life. I am very capable of putting thoughts together and expressing them. I sometimes need help understanding things, but that does not mean that I don’t understand. I sometimes need help expressing things, but that doesn’t mean I have no thoughts, and nothing to say. Help me when I need it, and let me do all I can, while I still can.”
  • I am worthy, respect me: “I need to feel that what I say and do matters. I have much yet to offer the world. In many ways, I have more to offer than someone who has not read the final chapter of their life yet. I have lived life, my life, and I am worthy of respect, just as I was before.”
  • I am scared, comfort me: “I am scared of the unknown. I don’t know if I have six months to communicate, or six years. I worry about going to bed at night and whether I’m going to be as bad tomorrow. This disease is with you 24/7. It’s my brain and I can’t get away from it—it is a scary thing.”
  • I crave compassion, love me: “I need to feel loved and needed, and that my contribution to life matters and helps someone else. I need to feel loved and not rejected because of my diagnosis. I need people to meet and accept me where I am at, right now…It’s important to understand that I don’t understand. I don’t have any idea why I forget some things and remember others. It’s not intentional—I just don’t have the ability to realize what I’m doing wrong.”

Helping those affected by Alzheimers

The heartbreaking reality is that almost every person reading this post will in some way be affected by Alzheimer’s disease. While nothing can truly prepare you for the emotional, financial and spiritual gauntlet that is dementia, it is possible for each of us to help create a better world for those with the condition.

Ultimately, it’s about making Alzheimer’s awareness an ongoing effort—not just for one month out of the year. And while donating money is a helpful step, perhaps a more profound donation is that of the time necessary to educate ourselves (and others) about the realities of the disease and the challenges faced by those who have it.

As science strives for a medicinal cure, we must do our best to support those for whom such a cure will probably come too late—the five million Americans currently living with Alzheimer’s disease, and their families.

Three of these families have shared their story in the online narrative: “Fade to Blank: Life Inside Alzheimer’s” as a way to help others understand the true impact of the disease on the lives of patients and their loved ones. Their raw, unfiltered perspective offers a glimpse into a complex world of love, fear, hope and anguish.

How will you support Alzheimer’s patients and caregivers this month (and all year long)? Share your thoughts below.

Image credit: nateone via Flickr

By AgingCare

AgingCare.com connects family caregivers and provides support, resources, expert advice and senior housing options for people caring for their elderly parents. AgingCare.com is a trusted resource that visitors rely on every day to find inspiration, make informed decisions, and ease the stress of caregiving.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Would feeling fantastic every day make a difference in your life?  

Healthy Highway is a Healthy Lifestyle Company offering Lifestyle Solutions for a Happy Healthy You!   We help people who are…

  • Wanting Work Life Balance.
  • Needing Stress Relief.
  • Concerned about their health and the environment.
  • Frustrated battling allergies to gluten, foods, dust, chemicals, pollen.
  • Overwhelmed with choosing the best products for their body, home, and office.
  • Unsatisfied with their relationships with the men and women in their life and are ready to transform them into satisfying, happy partnerships.
  • Standing at a Career Crossroad.
  • Preparing to start a family and want a healthy baby.
  • Seeking solutions for aging, more energy, and a good night’s sleep!

Are any of these an issue or problem for you?  Would it make sense for us to spend several minutes together to discuss your needs and how HealthyHighway can meet them? As a Healthy Lifestyle Coach with an emphasis on allergies and wellness, Leesa teaches her clients to make informed choices and enables them to make needed changes for a Happy Healthy Lifestyle. What you eat, what products you use ~ on your body and in your home and office, how you talk to yourself ~ it all matters!

Contact me today and Start today to live a healthier, happier life!  Don’t live in Atlanta?  Not a problem.  We do virtual coaching worldwide!

I look forward to helping YOU Live a Happy Healthy Life!  Remember, Excellent Health is found along your way, not just at your destination.

Live Well!

Leesa A. Wheeler

Leesa A. Wheeler

Healthy Lifestyle Coach, Artisan, Author of two books…
     Melodies from Within ~ Available Now! 
    Available on Amazon, Barnes&Noble, GooglePlay, iTunes! 

Member International Association for Health Coaches 

ring ~ 770-393-1284

write ~ info@healthyhighway.org

visit ~ www.healthyighway.org

coach, consult, contact ~ www.healthyhighway.org/contact.html

(Don’t live in Atlanta?  Not a problem!  We do virtual coaching worldwide!)

join our mailing list ~ www.healthyhighway.org

chcws ~ www.chews4health.com/Leesa

enjoy ~ www.chewcolat.com

follow ~ www.twitter.com/HealthyHighway

learn   www.healthyhighway.wordpress.com

like ~ www.tinyurl.com/Facebook-HealthyHighway

join ~ www.google.com/+HealthyhighwayOrg

join ~ www.google.com/+LeesaWheeler

link ~ www.linkedin.com/in/leesawheeler

skpe ~ healthyhighway

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

